Missed Connection of the Week: Apple Genius at Cambridgeside Galleria – Bostonist

apple-logo.jpgWe thought no one could top the celestial missed connection, but we loved this heartfelt tale of a dysfunctional iPod turned love connection at the Apple Store:

You liked my broken iPod: I called her Luna Lovegood. I liked the names of your thumb drives: you called them Pegasus and Galactica. When I told you my nano was called Not A Cylon, we had a moment, Apple Genius David… Though my warranty was outdated, my crush was new.

Apple Genius David of the D&G glasses, now you know where to find your cutest Ravenclaw customer, who only dates nerds.

[…]

Scene: A dismal afternoon, several days after Christmas.

Predicament: My iPod classic was old, and had developed some tics. Sometimes she would not turn either on or off. Sometimes the Hold button was rendered useless by…well, I didn’t know by what. Also there was this wonky black line on the screen all the time?

Dealbreaker, yo. That was not cool. I needed a Genius.

So off I went to the Apple Store at Cambridgeside. The day had not been going well. The weather was dark and gloomy; there was an absurd queue in the parking garage; music blared left and right, spilling out from the fashionable caverns of Abercrombie (it’s so loud in there!) etcetera. All this, and still I was met with an hour-long wait at the Genius Bar.

But fate prevailed! Just minutes after I arrived and set my appointment, Apple Genius David! You swept to my rescue, armed with a few spare moments and also glasses. I get this. I work in tv and film, and in my nerdgirl world of creative types, glasses mean srs bizness. Srsly. Just look at Liz Lemon.

(Aside: thanks, dude who didn’t show up on time to his appt!)

Although you had coke bottle specs so much like my own, yours were fancier (D&G on an Apple salary? Nicely done, man). I had very blonde hair, a black North Face and, though you could not read it, wore a T shirt that read “I Only Date Nerds”. More an aspirational notion than trufax. Just sayin’.

You liked my broken iPod: I called her Luna Lovegood. I liked the names of your thumb drives: you called them Pegasus and Galactica. When I told you my nano was called Not A Cylon, we had a moment, Apple Genius David.

I blushed furiously. Though my warranty was outdated, my crush was new. In my flustered state, I forgot to get a Snow Leopard CD. See what you have done to me, cute nerd boy with glasses same as mine? You made me forget my upgrade. I had to go back later that afternoon, but you were busy, being cute and Genius-y, no doubt, and I am shy.

So, thanks for the help, Apple Genius David! Were I as brave as Ginny Weasley or as brash as Kara Thrace, then I might have asked you out. I would have liked to chat you up some more. (Did I mention you were super cute?) But I am more Ravenclaw than Gryffindor, and for now all I have is my silly Genius crush and one battered frakkin’ iPod, worse for the wear.

So say we all.

Funny, this never happened to me when I worked for them.

Leave a Reply

